A sad day

Young lives. They are so fragile that many of them don't even reach adulthood. Sadly this is also what happened to the young Jackdaw from yesterday's blip because, when I went out briefly this morning, I found it dead at the other side of the shrubs where I had photographed it. I couldn't leave it lying exposed on the grass so I picked it up with a tissue and placed it behind some ivy where it lay hidden from sight.

When I held it in my hands, I could feel how thin it was, which made me think that it must not have eaten for some time, something I was unaware of yesterday because it hadn't looked that weak to  me. In hindsight, I cannot stop thinking now though that it was trying to look stronger than it actually was to keep itself safe.

Several questions have been going through my mind since I found the little Jackdaw's body this morning.  Should I have taken a closer look yesterday? Could it still have been saved if I'd tried to take it to a rescue centre then? Would it even have let me catch it? Or would it have flown off towards the nearby traffic and either been hit by a car, or run over by one? I'll never know now.

R.I.P. little Jackdaw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.