Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dubai International Financial Centre (DIFC)

Ok! I was trying to Blip last night but kept falling asleep over my laptop so eventually gave up leaving a "to be continued" comment at the end of a sentence. Woke up this morning to discover somehow, my entry didn't get posted at all which was actually a bit of a relief!

So yesterday - Thursday - started with me on the 7th floor of the Emirates Towers hotel. I had three courses to close, and the one of the 7th floor started at 8am. I have to say, the views from just 3 floors up are so different. I was so glad I took my camera with me... Here is a shot of the Gateway to DIFC and DIFC itself. You can just about see Burj Khalifa behind it.

Work went well. I am SO GLAD it is the end of the week. No lunch at home today as it is too hot to be travelling at that time of day in a car parked in the sun. I went down to the Tower Shop and bought a sandwich. New brand appeared on the shelf, so I tried it out. Started eating it and thought, this doesn't really taste quite right, so I checked the dates on it. Would you believe this... there is a company in Dubai (Pasta Regina) who reckon that a special way of packaging can make a sandwich with chicken, mayonnaise and lettuce last from 9.6.15 to 23.6.15!!! I can tell you that even on 11.6.15, the bread did not feel fresh. I called them, but do you think they were interested in customer feedback?? Typical Dubai business...

Got home for a very quick dinner before heading out to . . . ta da . . . the Oman Border!! It's that time again, and as this weekend is so busy, it was best to get the visa run out of the way tonight. We timed it just right as there were almost no queues, but we saw them build up as we were driving back. All done in 4 hours - which is not bad at all for Thursday night AND we did it listening (and sometimes singing along) to the Bee Gees and Tracy Chapman! We even had the windows down on the way back and let the wind blow through our hair... so incredible the difference in temperature and humidity being out in the desert.

Home at 11pm with enough time to catch up on the days' news but I really could not keep my eyes open to blip or comment! Hoping to catch up this weekend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.