Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Colour

Sorry - but it's another TV blip today!

Think I went to bed around 2am because I was watching Muhammad Ali's inter-faith memorial service! I actually didn't get to the end as it just got too late. Interesting to hear what people had to say.

Today, BBC World impressed us once again by relaying The Trooping of the Colour; don't think they've every done it before, so I guess turning 90 truly is a grand occasion, and didn't the Queen look incredible?! Can't quite get over her vibrant green dress. I am totally staggered by the stamina and energy of Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip! And a street party tomorrow... they will probably be out there for several hours again! Seriously, I cannot imagine the logistics of having a sit-down picnic for 10,000 people.

So, today I sat in awe and watched British pageantry at its best. G explained lots of things to me - being from a military family herself. All fascinating. You couldn't help notice the smiles on everyone's face for the Red Arrows fly past. :D

And for good measure, I'm posting a picture of the crowds on the Mall and in front of Buckingham Palace with some of London's skyline in the distance. The fountain is where we watched the NY's fireworks that brought in 2015. We were frozen after three hours of waiting, but it was SO worth it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.