Rumbling Kern

The fire service is still battling the fire in the woods behind our house but it is under control now. To escape the smoke I drove a friend to the coast for a walk - it is great to have the freedom of driving again, now I can see after the eye zapping, and today was to be the last of the good weather. I hope the 3 days were not all the summer we are to have.

We parked at Sugar Sands and walked a few miles north to Craster where we ate our sandwich by the harbour. On the way we went past one of my favourite places. We brought the children and their chums here - they loved jumping off the rocks into the sea. I prefer this view of the idyllic cottage, owned by the descendants of Earl Grey of nearby Howick Hall (he of the tea, the monument and PM 1830-34) and yours for a mere £1000 a week.

I am using an extra photo today, as I love the ruin of Dunstanburgh Castle, here seen from Craster Harbour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.