CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Making tracks

A bright, sunny. summer day.

For some time now I have only been able to walk up to half a mile on flat ground, because of my hip and my heart, and that was only possible by using a stick. It has meant that when Eleanor wanted to walk a few miles when we were out in a Country Park or at the seafront, I couldn't go with her.

I saw an advert a couple of days ago on the local Gumtree site and a very nice young man brought this Kymco Mini Scooter round this afternoon. Having ensured that it would fit into our rather small boot and that we could assemble and disassemble it, we bought it.

Because it was such a lovely day, we immediately went up to our local Chemist and Community Centre - just under a mile away. A cup of tea later and back home again. I am so grateful for all the campaigning that was done years ago to ensure that there are dropped kerbs and that buildings are accessible - otherwise that journey would not have been possible. I look forward to joining Eleanor on her walks in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.