Flower Friday For Alma - Red Poppy

We've had so much rain in the last 24 hours and some parts of the island have been flooded. Fortunately we're on the top of a hill so we haven't been affected.

As it was so wet I bought some lilies from M&S as a treat and for flowerfriday, but I didn't realise until I got them home that none of the buds were open. I did help one along, but it doesn't look quite right in a photo. I've also taken shots of the roses in the rain with Rik very kindly holding an umbrella, but they weren't that good either!

So this shot (one I prepared earlier) is of one of the Flanders Poppies I planted last summer and have come back again this year. I quite like it as it reminds me of a puppet or a matador with a bright red cloak.

JoanneInOz suggests that as many blippers as possible pass the word along, through their own journals, that this week's Flower Friday is in memory of Alma, Biker Bear's Mum who passed away last weekend. Perhaps if you knew Alma, or Anni, say a few words about your memories of Anni's beautiful mum...

I didn't know Alma and only know Anni as Biker Bear on blip. Thinking of you Anni. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.