Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Clematis - A Realisation

It has come as something of a realisation that many people outside Blip follow my journal.  Simple comments along the lines of 'you look as though you enjoyed your holiday' have been made when I didn't even realise I had told them I was going away.

Of course, Blipfoto is social media, but I'd always thought I was sharing it within the site, and not more generally.  Yes, I have started allowing posting to Facebook when I publish but even people I am not friends with know what is happening.  I don't mind. I'm rarely controversial and just hope to post something that adds to the site.  At this time of year I am less likely to be posting sunrises, even I struggle to be up and out in time for 4:45 am!

I am also more likely to use the journal as an opportunity to record what has happened, rather than a vehicle for my images.  Memory isn't as sharp as when I was younger and I now seem to associate special events with journal images, even when they are not necessarily related other than they happened on the same day.

I have also struggled to comment on other members images.  This does not sit easily with me.  After all people comment on mine and the spirit of Blip is about reciprocity.  I don't currently have an answer for this, but it does make me wonder about my continuing involvement if I can't dedicate time to contribute to the community.

Enough thinking.  Before the rain arrived this afternoon I got the macro lens out and walked around the garden.  A clematis is always good value for close inspection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.