Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Inquisition?

Well no, not really - though with Bishop Kevin in full dramatic swing as he conducts a public interview with an ordinand it could look that way. I post this for two reasons: I only took a couple of photos today and I thought it might be of interest to show what a member of Synod sees during the proceedings. 

This year, having sweltered last time in the space under the gallery, I was determined to sit near the front, so I'm actually in a front table with only a single person obscuring my view (another bishop, so not always there). The chair of the session sits at the red-covered table, flanked by the secretary to the General Synod Office and on the other side the Primus' assessor. The screen is the largest of several that remind everyone of what is happening at that time - either as here, with a simple summary, or with the wording of a motion. When members address Synod from one of three lecterns, their picture appears on the screens so that those at the back or unsighted by pillars can see who's who. 

The large bunch of flowers - which I suspect might just be artificial - are in the original pulpit of the church; pulpits are out of fashion here in these days of personal microphones. These microphones, of course, make for their own interesting moments when the chair ( who is wired for sound) wants to whisper to those on either side ...

Anyway, that's Synod. It's over for another year, and it's over for me anyway. I've been going to Synod all the time since I retired - 10 years of Synods, first as an alternate and then for two terms as an elected representative. I've been bored, I've been entertained, I've been intent and involved, I've been joyous, I've been disappointed, I've been furious. 

But tonight? I'm just tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.