Postcard from Christchurch

My headache came back full force today so thought a walk may do me good. It was lovely and sunny when I headed out but as soon as I got to the city centre, it clouded over. The sun did show its face every now and again.

I did want to see how the building in Cathedral Square that is being demolished was going. Thought It may have been down by now. You can see in the middle shots, the two in from the left: that they still have a way to go yet. The shots top right: are of man watching the demolition.

The shot top left and middle left: is going to be a Crowne Plaza. They have started doing some work on repairing the building. It should have come down I think along with many other people!

The shots bottom right and top middle: is the work being done on the Margaret Mahy Family Playground. The playground has been inspired by the stories of Canterbury's much-loved author, Margaret Mahy, and its unique design also reflects the Canterbury Plains and Port Hills environment.

The middle shot: is of a Japanese kimono on display in the Isaac Theatre Royal window. I didn't cross the road to find out more about it.

The shots middle top and middle bottom: show some of the roadwork's that having been going on for what seems like years in the city!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.