D77

By D77

Freedom of speech

Section 3.3

For the duration of this contract the Second Party will undertake to in no way to discuss or comment on topics related to Omani culture and politics in an untoward way, either in class or on the school campus. Violation shall result in termination of this contract without notice.

The above is an actual excerpt from my first contract out here. Last year, I dabbled in a variety of different things, one of which was delivering 'training workshops' to Omani businessmen. The workshops ranged from Advanced Writing Skills to Business Leadership. After one of these week-long workshops, one of the Omani gentlemen approached me with a gift. It was a book on the benefits of converting to Islam. The irony being of course, that were I to offer a book on the benefits of converting to atheism, I'd be deported in a heartbeat!

In all seriousness though, the subject doesn't really come up much during everyday teaching. The students say 'Inshallah' (meaning 'if God wills') a lot which drives me a bit mad, especially if all I'm asking is that they do their homework. Every now and again I'll retort "No Inshallah, just get it done!" to which I am met with puzzled looks as if to say "Whatever teacher, if God wills I'll do it, if he doesn't, I won't!"

Jeezo ;)

-------
This Blip is a tribute to one of my favourite Blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.