Sigh....

...I went out this morning (I rarely go out on a Sunday) to treat myself to a Welsh breakfast i.e. all the ingredients sourced in Wales. It was a great breakfast.

When I got home, however, I found that someone/s else had had some great breakfasts.

All was not well in gennepher's garden.

I sat on my swing and before I could react, because it startled me, a female blackbird had a frog's hind leg in her mouth (and the rest of the frog dangling)...the cat Lynx did have ideas of stalking the blackbird...but with the blackbird flying in a very low straight path toward Lynx (I think take off was a problem because of the weight in her beak) like a bat out of hell...Lynx turned and ran terrified into the house.

A little later Popeye and Suki seemed to be in cahoots over something... but...out from the undergrowth came another bat out of hell...a male blackbird carrying what looked like a frog. Again take-off was difficult because he was flapping his wings in desperation to higher his flight path before he hit the wall on the edge of my garden. Popeye and Suki looked in horror at this apparition coming towards them and shot into the kitchen like bullets through the cat flap.

So I went to check my ponds...all seven and a half of them (I had cleared another two and a half ponds after those two orange tub ponds the other day).

This small pond which normally houses seven small frogs is devoid of frogs...I dredged it with my bare hand...nothing in it. I know each individual frog in it. They all have different markings and there is one tiny frog that usually sits on the back of big frog when they are sunbathing.

I checked the other ponds. A couple are too deep to check, but there is an absence of frogs sunbathing or even floating with just their eyes out of the water. The orange tubs still have frogs in, including my smiley frog prince who I posted the other day.

As you can see I have put a twisty branch over the top of the wee little pond in the photo above. I need to cross cross the other ponds with some tree branches.

Meanwhile the cats have no interest in being outside this lovely sunny day...they are all in the kitchen sitting on those hated plastic green garden chairs...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.