Silver Eye or Wax Eye

I was enjoying watching the silver eyes in the early morning sunlight today but struggled a little to capture one in the low light with no tripod. The good news is that the missing tripod piece will arrive on Wednesday.

I saw two new aspects of the silver eyes behaviour. The first was they were diving into the bread I had thrown out for the sparrows - I had no idea they would eat bread - especially when there is sugar water and fruit out especially for them.

The other thing I noticed was that they were cosying up like pairs of lovebirds - not what I expected to see in early winter. They pressed their little bodies close together on the branches, groomed each other with their beaks and generally fussed over each other in the early sunshine. It was not just this couple, but several couples.  Surely it is too early to be getting ready for the mating season. I have included a shot of a couple  as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.