Fallow Deer

It is the last day of half-term and I am with my grandchildren again today; it is very wet and extremely windy. In fact we had to bring in the swing hammock as it was almost blown away and the top kept banging on the conservatory window. The cover was only prevented from blowing away as one of the ties, which hold it on had become entangled in the metal work.

I had been hoping that the Muntjack, which frequently visits the garden would appear, it has not done so all week and I gave up hope today with the weather as bad as it is. I walked into the conservatory to have my lunch and there was a deer in the garden. It was far away in a dark area under the trees. I took some pictures before it disappeared. It came back a little while later and although it stayed on the edge of the garden it did venture out a little more enabling me to take some more pictures. I took seventy-six and there were about ten which were usable. All of them were taken through the window and all suffer from some reflections. I think the deer is a Fallow deer, but it could be a hybrid Sika; their tail patterns are very similar and both types are known to be in the area.

Victoria chose this one because it was eating leaves and had its mouth open, but I preferred this one, although it is behind a bush it suffers from less reflections. There are more here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.