Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

The China Penguin

I've posted more than once that The Kelpies are my 'go to' place when I'm stuck for a daily blip. Or The Falkirk Wheel. Both of these local landmarks are a short driving distance from where I live and lend themselves to photographs from numerous angles and viewpoints.

Friday was one of those days. I planned to do lots, but didn't get everything done that I had planned. I had planned to go out during the day at some point, but never made it past the front door until late in the evening, i.e. after 9pm. And even that was to pick up a take-away meal. As I said, it was one of those days.

And so, in case the day ended without a picture to post here, I took a photo of an ornament in my living room. No ordinary ornament, though, for this one has history. It belonged to my gran and sat on the piano in her living-room. I was brought up in gran's house and as a child was fascinated by it, so much so that I believe it is the reason for my life-long fascination for penguins.

On other social media sites I have the user-name 'chinapenguin' or 'luckypenguin' and use a cropped version of a similar photo to today's blip as my 'gravatar'. On Friday, gran's penguin came to the rescue once more. It was either that or a picture of a Chicken Nentara with Fried Rice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.