Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

National Wallace Monument

An interesting day, was Saturday.

A day when, not for the first time, things didn't quite go according to plan. Serves me right for actually having a plan, I suppose.

The plan was to write the rest of my church service for Sunday, sit back and watch the football - good result for Scotland, by the way, even though I was hoping it was a game we would win - and then have a lazy evening with a glass of wine or two. (At most two glasses, or it would have made for two very interesting church services on Sunday!)

However, a request on Friday from friends asking me to pop over for a wee while on Saturday afternoon meant that the final touches of the church service(s) weren't completed until later on Saturday evening. And I still had my daily blip to take. The wine would have to wait.

Plan A was to take a photo of Stirling Castle illuminated and so I waited until late in the evening before driving over to Cambusbarron, from where I reckoned I would get a good picture. Except that the castle wasn't illuminated and, in any event, it still hadn't turned that dark.

Plan B came into action. It looked like the Wallace Monument was lit up, so I drove over to Riverside in Stirling and fired off one or two pictures just to get them 'in the bag' as it were. Was about to try a few more from different viewpoints when the lights went out. It was 11pm. Oh well, at least I had a couple of shots from which to choose my blip for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.