Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Gold

The Hunterian Art Gallery in Glasgow is hosting a 'Scottish Gold' exhibition from 14 March until Sunday 15 June. I had been meaning to visit it for some time but realised that time was running out, so Friday saw me in Glasgow for the second time in two days.

The exhibition featured a wide array of Scottish gold items from the Bronze Age to the present day, as well as focussing on the history of gold mining in Scotland.

Among the items in the exhibition were some of the gold torcs found in 1857 at Law Farm, near Elgin. This was the largest prehistoric gold hoard ever found in Scotland and the collection, usually dispersed around a number of UK museums, is displayed here for the first time in over 150 years.

I took a few photos of the exhibition (without flash, I hasten to add) and, as I was leaving, took a picture of the poster on the outside stairwell advertising the exhibition. At that point, someone came out and told me that photography wasn't permitted in the gallery! Oops! I think I got away with that one - and no-one reads my blips anyway, do they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.