Mono-Monday: Angle

I found no shortage of “angles” this morning when I took the opportunity provided by slightly cooler temperatures to go into the local town center and walk around with my camera.  I came across these rather oddly configured brick steps.  The banister is parallel to the street and building, but the stairs go from the building to the banister at what appears to be a less than 45-degree angle.  Anyway, lots of angles to be found here.

Thanks so much to JDO for hosting the mono-monday challenge, which is one of my favorites.   I started participating 10 days after joining blip for the 7th week of MM, and here we are now at MM72.  I believe I have only missed one or two in during this time when I was traveling. Participating in this challenge and the others (Macro, Wide Angle, Flowers) has forced me to change it up on a regular basis.  I like having time to think about the theme and perhaps scout some locations or try some things out in advance. While I was a picture snapper for many years, I didn’t really start to learn about the art of photography until I joined blip.  By participating in the challenges, I have had the opportunity to focus on very specific techniques, subjects and processing, repeatedly, and they have forced me to dig deep for some often very elusive creativity.  So while my images for the challenges may not always indicate this, I believe participation and seeing the very creative work of others has definitely improved my photography skills. 

If you haven’t participated in any of these challenges, I highly recommend them.  Since there isn’t much happening at BlipCentral these days, I thought I would provide a little history and information here regarding those challenges about which I have knowledge.  There could very well be others, too. 

Mono-Monday was created by Paladian in January 2014.  There is a different host every month and new theme every week.  The month of June is being hosted by JDO. This week’s entries for “Angle” should be tagged MM72. 

Tiny Tuesday is a continuation of the MayMacroMayhem challenge, created by WWombat.  There will be guest host each week. This week is hosted by TeeJay and entries should be tagged, TinyTuesday AND TinyTuesday3.  

Wide Angle Wednesday was created by Hobbs in March of this year, and encourages participants to explore the use of their wide-angle or fisheye lenses or settings. I have learned lots of interesting things about my wide angle lens by participating each week.  This week, I feel very honored that Hobbs has asked me to be the guest host. The theme is “Corner” and the entries should be tagged widwed16.  

FlowerFriday was created and is hosted by BikerBear.  The tag for your entries for this week should be FlowerFriday19 (for the 19th of June). This challenge is such a nice way to wind down the week and the entries can be quite exquisite.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.