Trick Fountains

at Schloss Hellbrunn.

A full day for us again.   Commencing with, what for me was, a terrifying cable car ride up to Untersberg Mountain.    A perch from where you feel you can see the whole world.   It was a location used in the filming of Where Eagles Dare (1968 film with Clint Eastwood and Richard Burton)    
Weather much cooler and visibility not so good as we neared the peak.    I had jelly legs by the time we docked at the top.
If I can get them on I have put a picture of a couple of the views in my extras, but they are not that good.

Once back down to earth we caught the bus to Schloss Hellbrunn, a palace built 1612- 1619 for Archbishop Markus Sittikus.   In the Baroque gardens there are trick fountains - Wasserspiele-    which you can only explore with a guide.  We took this tour, along with a group of local school children.   The kids enjoyed the sudden water torrents more than us grown ups but it was fun to be there trying to dodge  the surprise jets of water up the legs of our shorts.

It piddled down with rain most of the afternoon but we soldiered on up to the folk museum and then along to Salzburg Zoo.    

Eventually caught the bus back to City.   I could go on and on about our day but I need to head off and drink beer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.