peterdawson

By peterdawson28

Lacerta Zootoca vivipara

Or common lizards to you and I. I found this pair doing a little basking in the sun by a pond at the London Wetlands Centre.

Without wanting to court controversy, I should point out that the one in the foreground with the rather sour expression and the red rimmed eye, is the female. I don't really go in for anthropomorphic descriptions of wildlife but from her shape her "bad mood" may be down to the impending arrival of some baby lizards - this is one of those rare species of reptile that give birth to live young rather than laying eggs.

I hope the little ones do as well as mum and dad who are clearly a couple of born survivors - both of them are missing a fairly large amount of their tail!

It was a bit of a toss up which shot to use again, amongst the better alternatives were the mating damselflies and the rather striking Helophilus pendulus hover fly that I've added as extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.