Journey Through Time

By Sue

The Lovely Zahra (she's on the left. :))

I met Zahra in Seattle yesterday.  It was a wonderful day and my son was so kind to drive me up there.  It was a warm day and Dave and I first went to the Market Place which was jammed and I mean JAMMED to the rafters with people.  It was hot there and not a comfortable place to be.  We ended up nearer to where I would meet Zahra and David and I walked around and took photos of the tall buildings.  We sat down on a bench beside the Sheraton hotel, and I looked up and there was Zahra!  I looked at her and she looked at me, and she said, "Are you waiting for me?"  It was 45 minutes from our meet time, so after the very best hug I've had in ages, she had to finish up with an event at her conference, and then we cooled off in the lobby of the Sheraton hotel.  She showed up and then she and I went to the Cheescake Factory which is right across the street from the Convention Center. David decided to find a place where he could watch the basketball game, so he went somewhere else. It worked out great.  She explained her program to get her PhD.  That takes longer than I thought it did to get.  She's has her degree in Computer Science and is in the Engineering Department at Purdue. It's so specialized that that is all I can honestly tell you.  Trust me when I tell you....she's pretty darn smart!  I have one year of college under my belt and a year at business school.  I told her I read a lot of books... Boy, I bet that impressed her!!  LOL    It was so good to meet her in person.  We "met" on Blipfoto when I started following her.  She's so busy now, she doesn't do much with her photography.  But the photo I have on my wall, that she took, is just the most gorgeous image. And I thank her for sending me the file and letting me print it out.  

Anyway, Dave and I had fun looking and photographing the tall buildings and we ended up at the Space Needle.  Parking expenses are mind boggling to me.  A few days vacation in Seattle would be so fun, but I'd have to win the lottery, I think.  Tickets to go up in the Space Needle are $26 a person.  Yikes.   Zahra's phone was used for this photo.  Maybe I can sneak it by the powers that be on Blip.  I added some "extra" photos. Some tall buildings, some fun green umbrellas at the Pike's Place Market, and the Space Needle and you can see the EMP building and an artsy metal thing that separates the Seattle Center area from the parking lot.  That EMP building is the strangest looking thing I've ever seen.  They have special events...museum stuff... I really don't know what all they do.  I think it was first built as a Science Fiction museum.  The alien face is from the reflection of two different parts of the building.  Wild, yes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.