Memories

Trying to think of something as a subject for the challenge other than something from the garden (of which I seem to have done a lot lately) I thought I'd look through my trinket box.  I shot various pairs of earings, chains and pendants and found nothing seemed to work so I had a look through Jack's things which were a lot more interesting than mine.

This watch was bought from a jeweller on the Rialto Bridge in Venice about 25 years ago  -  maybe more, and at a time when Jack always wore double cuff shirts and cufflinks;   it was the norm whenever we went away that he'd keep an eye out for anything unusual.  That particular holiday it was this watch that caught his eye and I have to say I fell in love with it too.  We think it's Italian, but the chain as can be clearly seen is a rose gold as opposed to the quite yellow gold of the watch, and was bought in the U.K.

The main thing I remember about the purchase was that the proprietor was anxious to know, was whether or not Manchester was pronounced Manchester or Manchester  -  obviously a football fan, and a reminder that the world used to be a much bigger place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.