Shadowman

A colleague said to me the day after Sir Christopher Lee passed away, "I expect you are going to draw Christopher Lee now, aren't you?" He was right, I had decided to do so as soon as I heard the news. He requested that I draw Mr. Lee as Scaramanga. Funnily enough, I had already planned to do so since Scaramanga is my second favourite Bond villian after Christopher Walken's Max Zorin in A View To A Kill.

Scaramanga is a great villian because he is a perfect sinister reflection of Bond; a handsome, intelligent, hedonistic, suave, Lothario with a taste for thrills and, of course, they are both hired killers. Just look at this poster; this could be James Bond. He even has the classic Bond pose. Actually, now I come to think of it, Sir Christopher could have been a fantastic James Bond; he would have given Bond that sinister edge which is so important to prevent him from becoming farcical.

Anyway, rest in peace, Sir Christopher. You were a master of the craft. Here is a theme which should have been yours.

Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.