A juvenile great spotted woodpecker in the garden

I had another attempt at fixing the leaking pipe and eventually did manage it. Then I had to get the new ballcock system to work, and found the new unit was no good. So off i went o exchange it.

Before I went I had a coffee at the dining room tabkle overlooking the patio.  I heard the call of a woodpecker and then spotted it flying up to the peanut feeder.  I went to get my camera but before I could get a good position it had been scared  and flew away.

I stood in the doorway as I could still hear it calling from the ash tree at the  bottom of the garden, hidden in the foliage.  Then another woodpecker flew up the garden and came up over the cabin and was startled when it saw me.  It wheeled around and flew back to the ash tree and I managed to catch this shot.  I filmed one a few days ago sitting in the ash tree and had hope for an opportunity like this to get it in flight, so I am rather pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.