A Geranium psilostemon, possibly

I have been very annoyed again today, with garden machinery this time.  The Stihl strimmer which worked so well last year has only spluttered and coughed when I've tried to start it up.  I have got it to run for a few minutes at a time, but then it choked again and died.

It is probably my fault because I didn't know that petrol doesn't last for longer than a month or so before losing its 'vitality'.  The mixture of two-stroke oil with the poor petrol then seems to clog up the engine, and particularly the spark plug and exhaust which look very oily.  I have done my best to get good new fuel, new two-stroke oil and mix it all correctly.  But still it hasn't worked properly.  Tomorrow I will get a special spanner to extract the spark plug and maybe replace it if I can find a suitable model. Meanwhile the grass and other plants are growing like mad and I am not getting on with growing what I want.

While I was hurting my arm and shoulder trying to pull the cord of the starter mechanism, I couldn't help noticing that two quite young nuthatches were flying onto the hanging feeders, which were only about five feet away from where I stood.  They watched me, then clambered from branch to branch and then slowly examined and took the sunflower seeds being offered.  I suppose that they are unafraid as they often see me close by and aren't feeling threatened.  After I'd given up with the strimmer, I returned to sit on the steps from the patio t the garden where I had been before with my camera to hand.  But this time the nuthatches on ly returned once so I didn't get the close-up shots I'd hoped for.

Instead I went out this evening as the light was going and pointed my camera at the front garden, which is also far too overgrown.  But at least some pretty plants have flourished, including two foxgloves which have arrived as volunteers and also a teasel, which is most unusual.  But I'm blipping this geranium I planted a few years ago, which is also thriving.  I think it is a Geranium psilostemon,  but I'm not absolutely sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.