Strike that. Reverse it!

By GMTFar

Day 160 - Calliope

In memory of my lovely nan who would have been 92 today.

My nan Calliope Stombu was originally from a village near Thessaloniki, Greece. She met my grandad during the war and moved over to England. Not long after moving here the locals struggled with her name so renamed her "Poppy". Which isnt far from Calliope.

Sadly my nan passed away in 2003 after having advanced alzheimers for 7 years.

Not a day goes past when I dont think of her, she was a huge part of my life. I'm grateful that I no longer remember her vacant alzheimers face and that the founder older memories have returned.

She was an amazing lady and my role model growing up. Family was her life. I wish my children could have met her and one day they will but in the meantime we keep her spirit alive everyday as she watches over us.

So it had to be a Poppy for todays blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.