The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

More Nyonya food

Today was another day of planning so I only went out for meal times. At lunch I went to a Nyonya restaurant and had a few small dishes.
First I had otak-otak, a fish cake in banana leaf. Otak means "brains" in Malay and you can see from the photo how it got the name. They were spongey and pretty delicious. Secondly I had ngo hiang, fried chicken sausage with a spicy dip. I also had pai tee again but they weren't as good as I had a few days ago. I finished with a great cendol, this time without the durian as I've decided that even though I love durian, it overpowers cendol.

In the evening I was taken to a place serving asam pedas (which literally means "sour & spicy"), a claypot dish usually with fish (I had stingray, the popular choice here). It was indeed sour and spicy, very tasty!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.