The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Back to KL

I managed to fit in one last Nyonya meal at Jonker 88 before I had to leave Melaka. I had the local version of laksa, a spicy and sour noodle soup. It wasn't too spicy but it was incredibly strong and really hit the back of my throat and I had to take a few sips of water to stop myself from coughing! Very tasty though. I also had another cendol as I'd heard theirs was one of the best.

I then got a three hour bus to Kuala Lumpur followed by a 20 minute train (which cost less than 20p) to Chinatown. I'd booked in to a popular hostel with extremely high ratings online. It wasn't cheap for a dorm (I could get a private room elsewhere for the same price) but it looked really nice, so I thought I'd give it a try.

After enjoying the good showers and fast wifi, I went to one of the many restaurants in the surrounding area of Little India. I'd been recommended a few by the hostel staff and picked the one with the best reviews. It turned out to be a fairly posh restaurant (relative to most places I've been eating in recently) so it was slightly more expensive but still amazing value. I had a Northern Indian thali.

Are you bored of hearing about all the food I'm eating yet? I'm not bored of eating it or writing about it ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.