NormPietila

By NormPietila

A trip down champignon lane ..

Many years ago I made it a ritual to go in search of the elusive Morel mushroom around the first week of June.  They are the Champions of the champignon and so fragrant and delicious. Not to mention expensive.  They are very difficult to spot as you could be eyeing one down in front of you for several minutes and not see it.  Their cone/sponge like appearance blends in perfectly with the terrain.  At the time I was with my two German Short-haired Pointers near the Forks-of-the-Credit river and I came across so many of these mushrooms I almost fainted.  The two large pails I collected fetched a cool $100 form the Chef at the 4 Seasons Hotel in Toronto.  The sad part of all this was the $100 fee I had to pay my Vet in order to remove several dozen baby quills from the inside of the mouth of both my dogs. Porcupines are not a friendly animal and my dogs found that out in short order.  Haven't been morel hunting since!  
3 extra 'shroom blips were also from my hike today.
All TinyTuesday3 macros. 65mm ext tubes, 70-200 lens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.