Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Tuxie Tuesday!

I seem to be able to game on my computer again. There's still a lot left to work on, but I'm taking a break.

I think Tuxie is starting to like Tuxie Tuesdays.

People suck. For more on that topic, see the rant farther down.

Hope you're all doing well. Take care. Love you all.

Warning!: The following is a rant about people that will believe whatever a doctor says even if it doesn't make any sense (Or in some cases, is outright/obviously wrong and/or laughably stupid. Many examples from my own personal experiences provided) and will blindly defend the doctor's opinion on the subject matter.

I'm tired of people who ask a single doctor a question, then take their answer as the DEFINITIVE answer.

When I was a child, I was told it was impossible for a child to have arthritis. (It's not.) No, my severe pain was "growing pains." Even into my teen years after I stopped growing.  

And all that severe pain in my chest wall? Growing pains. The only reasonable answer. (It's actually nerve damage caused by my ribs being cracked open when I had open heart surgery, and is an extremely common lifelong side effect, I've had many doctors tell me in adulthood.)

I was told it was impossible that I had asthma as a child because I'm usually a cougher, not a wheezer. (Which led to me blacking out during asthma attacks because the doctor refused to treat me for it.)

I've had severe digestive issues and pain in my digestive tract for my entire life. The doctor said it was "just gas" because "it's impossible for children to experience acid reflux, to have ulcers, Crohn's disease, or develop stomach cancer." He then pumped me full of anti-gas medications and refused to conduct any tests or even humor the idea that it could be anything else. His response to there always being blood in my stool? I had to be making it up, because absolutely nothing could cause that it a child. (A few years ago an ulcer was found in my stomach that had been there most of my life, according to the doctor that found it. I have also suffered acid reflux for the majority of my life. There's a good chance I have Crohn's. Doctors are still stumped about my internal bleeding. Thank God I didn't have stomach cancer as a child.)

That SAME DOCTOR also said it was IMPOSSIBLE for me to have CVID and hypogammaglobulinanemia because "they aren't hereditary." (Guess what: They are and I do have them.)

That same doctor didn't believe that children could have cancer at all. I don't think I need to give an example of how ridiculous that is. And no, I didn't grow up in the 50s or 60s, I was born in 1989 and grew up in the 90s and 00s.

I could spend all day giving more examples, but I think I've supplied an ample amount to get my point across.

It enrages me to no end when someone decides to ask a single doctor about the possibility of something, then blindly believes that answer and even tries to shove it down your throat because they disagree with you about something. (Especially when the person in question has also been failed by doctors in the past and sought second opinions.) Better yet? When they're too stupid to see that their own beliefs in that answer don't make any sense.

This person is absolutely convinced that it's impossible for part of the immune system to be overactive if another part of the immune system is underactive. (Because let's ignore the fact that our immune systems are made up of many different smaller systems and cell types.) While in the same breath admitting that I have tons of allergies and should seek treatment for them. What is an allergy but the immune system OVERREACTING to a substance or environmental factor?

Going purely by her logic, it would be IMPOSSIBLE for someone with an underactive immune system to have allergies.

I'm so sick and tired of lazy asses that refuse to do any research and instead choose to ask a single doctor and then treat that doctor's answer as though it were the word of God Xeself. (In case you're wondering, "xe" is a gender neutral pronoun. I don't subscribe to the idea that God has a binary gender.)

Anyways, if you can't tell, I'm frustrated as hell and pretty much done with certain (types of) people.

I'm perfectly happy to have INTELLIGENT discussions about why or why not something may be medically possible or impossible, but the moment you display such contradicting beliefs, then fly off the handle accusing me of picking a fight when I (civilly and calmly) point it out and ask about it, instead of discussing WHY you believe two (or more) highly contradictory things, THAT is when I stop listening and walk away.

When someone decides to flip the game board instead of playing the game out to the end just because they weren't in the lead, I stop playing board games with that person. I have the exact same stance towards people that do the conversational equivalent.

TL; DR: 1) Doctors can be wrong, make mistakes, and some can be complete and total idiots that shouldn't be allowed to practice medicine.
2) Don't flip the conversational game board when someone pokes a hole in your argument. Discuss the topic intelligently, or admit that you can't explain why you have two (or more) very contradicting beliefs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.