Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Large

A Large Skipper for Tiny Tuesday.

I usually wait for the first one in the garden for my annual first Large Skipper of the year blip, but after seeing the first on the moor last Friday (12th) I came across another two today and thought I would share.

Highlight of the day was a Painted Lady, but I could only get close enough for a record shot.

I did see examples of both species on my Corfu trip a couple of weeks back, but it's always good to find them on my local patch.

I checked out the Green Hairstreak haunts and there was no activity, so I assume they're now finished for the year. And no sign of the Ringlets yet but they should be with us any day now.

Rough counts for the day: Small Tortoiseshell - 6; Small Heath - 15; Speckled Wood - 1; Large Skipper - 2; Common Heath - 18; Brown Silver-line - 30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.