Wide-Angle Wednesday: ("Hospital") Corner

My late Mum was confined to a fever hospital for 3 weeks at the age of 6 (in 1927) when she had scarlet fever. She used to tell us how she was taught by the nurses how to make beds properly, using a "Hospital Corner" - and she did her best to teach us.

So when I saw the challenge for today I thought I'd try to blip it. The photo seems to look most dramatic in mono with high contrast; the problem is, this makes the photo show all the defects in my technique!. Anyway, I did my best. Sorry it's not better, Mum.

Googling "Hospital Corner" produces lots of results, including even Youtube videos on how to make a bed!! One of the most amusing links is here. It's to a website called "artofmanliness" (clearly a website I should have discovered years ago!). This link even claims that "...making your bed neatly and tightly every day can actually increase your overall happiness..." (just like blipping, then!). It does however say that "...many people are intimidated by hospital corners..." - so I hope you don't find this blip too intimidating :)

Many thanks to hobbs for the idea of widwed and to osuzanna for hosting this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.