The Big City

A meeting with a City lawyer.

Mid morning flight to London City Airport. Sandwich, then on into the City itself.

A pleasant meeting. We’ve met before. We’re on the same side - I’m his client.

Finished at 4. Then things got strange. He invited me for a drink. Fair enough - I was finished for the day (apart from the small matter of the journey home).

On the way, he gave me a tour of the Inns of Court. He even took me inside Inner Temple. Or was it Middle Temple?

When we got to the wine bar, he ordered a bottle.

So 90 minutes later he lurched off to do some more work and I lurched off into the rush hour on London Underground.  

I’m puzzled though. This kind of behaviour died out a couple of recessions ago.

Ah, the Blip. Fountain Court. In the heart of London's lawyer district.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.