Matariki

Matariki is the Māori name for the cluster of stars also known as the Pleiades. It rises in mid-winter – late May or early June. For Māori, it heralds the start of a new year. Matariki literally means the 'eyes of god' (mata ariki).

It is usually celebrated with a light ceremony of some sort.  One of our classes celebrated by creating these lamps.  They used card and coloured tissue along with mini led lights.  They put on a great display.  


I came up to Nelson this afternoon for a meeting, am going out to a business dinner tonight and then have a meeting tomorrow here in Nelson.  I will do my best to select my favourites from TinyTuesday#3 tonight but won't list them until tomorrow's blip.  I've been amazed at the quality and variety of the blips - I've got some hard choices to make!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.