Great Spotted Woodpecker

 It's been quite some time since I posted one of these lovely birds   -  I've seen plenty around but they're  nervous and aren't always easy to capture. This could be a juvenile, and I only say that because he seemed as if he'd been brought to the feeder rather than arrive on his own.  This Rhododendron is next to the feeder and I'd noticed there were two birds waiting to dash out rather than the usual one.  One or other of them has been back and forth most of the day.

A well laid plan went awry this morning; I've been wanting to blip Blackbirds recently, and so I put meal worms amongst the rock plants where they tend to hang out.  The squirrels were obviously watching and it would seem the Blackbirds benefited not at all and the squirrels (little imps)  dug up all the plants to get at them.   Back to the drawing board again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.