rower2012

By rower2012

The ancient theatre

This ancient theatre, also known as the "Greek theatre" is built for the most part of brick, and is therefore probably of Roman date, though the plan and arrangement are in accordance with those of Greek, rather than Roman, theatres. It is said that that the present structure was rebuilt upon the foundations of an older theatre of the Greek period. 

As you can see from my extra photo, this theatre is frequently used for operatic and theatrical performances, film festivals and for concerts. I have seen video of Nana Mouskouri singing on this stage.

The greater part of the original seats have disappeared, but the rear wall which surrounded the whole cavea is preserved. The proscenium with the back wall of the scena and its appendages, of which only traces remain in most ancient theatres, are here very well preserved, and contribute much to the picturesque effect, as well as to the interest, of the ruin. 

I chose this view for my main photo because I so liked the view of the sea, as seen through this section of the ruin. I had been to this place 8 years ago and I set out today to shoot this angle as my favourite view - for sharing on Blip. The extra photo gives a good overview of the place.

The original structure was built early in the seventh century BC and added to and updated by the Romans. I have left Malta for the time being, so where did I take these photos?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.