mambo

By mambo

Humble viola.

Went into my garden to have a good look at all that is growing there.... thirty seconds later job done, it really is that small!

Seriously I do have a small garden but try and cram lots (probably too much for the purists) in it.

Don't you think that's a great thing about a garden? You can do exactly what you want in it, or nothing at all if you so choose.

Forget Gardeners World and the Chelsea Flower show etc, it's YOUR garden!
Having said that, one of my favourite TV gardeners was the late, great, Geoff Hamiton who once did a series called Paradise Gardens where he looked at some amateur gardens big and small but every plot was the owner's little paradise.

These were not makeover gardens but places that had grown and evolved over the years. I think in this instant , quick fix age, we all want everything NOW but a little paradise takes time and patience.

One of Geoff's tips was to cover the fences and walls in vegetation, he also said to make your boundaries higher so you paradise is more private. I've done that to mine wherever I can and its one of my better efforts in making my garden grow towards the vision I have for it.

Biker Bear hosts the Flower Friday challenge and when reading her journal I see she is transplanting some favourite plants from her late Mothers's garden to her own, if that isn't taking one little bit of paradise to another I don't know what is.

Well that was quite a ramble! Back to the humble little viola that I picked this morning for Flower Friday. Surely one of the most essential additions to any garden, cheap to buy, self seeding , virtually no maintenance, my kind of plant!
I love their little faces, all slightly different and often blemished, just like human faces.

The one I have chosen today reminds me of an angry little dog! If you screw your eyes up maybe you can see it too.
Mr P has just had a look and he can see a cat.

Thank you everyone for the hearts and stars yesterday to put the lovely Tiled Hall on the popular pages, I'm very grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.