Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

Whisky

back blipping (1/6) from the future (again).
P was on call and away for his 40th b'day last weekend, so I decided we'd celebrate it this weekend, a sort of postponed birthday, an extra week of being in his 30s - lucky sod.
So pressies were presented. Once we'd dropped E off at a birthday party (indoor climbing no less!), I surprised him.  A wee visit to Auchentoshan's Distillery. It's not far out of Glasgow and is a wonderful way to spend an hour.  For someone who was in the food industry, I find it particularly interesting and for someone who likes whisky (Paul), also fun! We both really enjoyed it and P especially enjoyed the wee dram and tasting session at the end.  I'm not really into whisky, but this triple distilled whisky was smooth and pleasant, I'm really not keen on the islands peaty, smoky whiskies though.  I'm more of a bourbon drinker, and this whisky is matured in bourbon barrels, maybe another reason I didn't hate it.  Oh this is one of the 3 copper stills the whisky gets distilled in, beautifully crafted things.

Then after a flurry of picking kids up, making dinners and getting dolled up, and picking my Mum up, we made it out to dinner.
We went to Tarantino, if you are in Glasgow I'd urge you to give it a go, really properly authentic, delicious Italian food (and wine, and beer, and Tiramisu, and gelato....).  C and D joined us for a glass and then we all headed off in search of a suitable place to chat and share another glass. Lovely D wasn't drinking and drove us home, which was fab as the getting home taxi palaver is always the sting in the tale of a fine night out.  And that was Saturday, very successful and enjoyable!

Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.