Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Mainline turnouts are installed

I blipped a photo a while ago that showed the last 13 turnouts for the mainline.  But I had not installed the under-board turnout motors or wired up the track with drop leads.  That is done and I finished cutting the holes necessary for clearance of the stuff that hangs below the turnout.  Whew.  The blip shows where the five turnout groupings are and now I need to connect them with roadbed and track.  

The wires coming up on the left side over the front of the layout are leads for me to program the NCE Switch8 boards.  Each board controls 8 turnouts.  But I need to program the turnout addresses onto the board first - way easier to do this standing up than under the table.  Two wires from the main power bus go to the board once installed, and two wires to each turnout.  On the NCE, when I select the turnout address - like #23 - it tells me on the LED screen the present location of the switch (normal or reversed) and I press a number to throw the switch.  Slick system.

That first real train running is not far away.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.