Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Mainline cork roadbed is in!

Today I finished up laying the cork road bed for the mainline tracks.  You can see on the lower picture the T-pins holding the last strips in place.  Also the tools ready to lay some track.  I included two photos as I could not get the whole layout (without staging)into one frame.  The layout is an "L" shape with the top photo showing one leg of the L and the bottom photo showing the other leg.  

I also programmed the remaining Switch8 circuit boards that will control the turnouts.  Way easier to do this on the top of the layout rather than underneath.  And I also installed the small turntable in the locomotive yard.  

Once the track is finished on the new roadbed, I need to wire up each segment of track, and can then run an inagural train.  About time!  One rule I follow religiously is to drop a lead from each rail of every individual section of track, including the outside rails of the turnouts. My experience says that I should never rely on the rail joiners for conducting power especially in DCC.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.