Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Laying track

I continued today laying more track.  The two large loops at one end of the layout present challenges.  The loop is approximately six feet long, but the flex track is about three feet each section.  Thanks to Model Railroader, I learned that the easiest way to do a large curve is to solder the rail joiners between two pieces of flex track.  Then when you bend them the curve continues through the joint.  Trying to match up a curve with two separate flex track pieces is almost impossible - at least for me.  But this soldering trick works sweet.

I am using Peco track, manufactured in the UK.  It is excellent - the best I have ever used.  I am using code 55 N scale track.  What makes it so bullet proof is that the rail is actually code 80 or so, but a good part of it is hidden in the ties.  You only see the code 55 part above the ties.  Yes - the ties are too thick for prototype, but once they are painted and the track ballasted, all you see is the top of the ties and it looks perfect to my eye.  And this track (and turnouts) are really stout.

Another thing that Peco does is sell extra ties to put under joints.  To get the rail joiners on the two pieces of flex track, you need to remove at least a tie on each end.  The rail joiners go on easily.  But this leaves you with a gap once the track is laid with no ties - hardly real world. But Peco sells these separate ties with just a slot cut that goes right on the rail.  Hold it in place with a piece of blue painter tape on the top and you are ready to glue down the track.  I use Dap acrylic caulk for gluing the track.  Works perfectly.  Another Model Railroader magazine tip.

The top part of the blip is an overhead of the two sections of flex track, soldered together.  The bottom portion is a detail of the extra ties before I put them on the track.  The center one is turned 90 degrees to show the cut.  On past railroads I had to make these fill-in ties myself with an exact knife - and it was a pain, and caused plenty of cuts.  These Peco guys and gals are right on the program!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.