Impression of a Gannet

You'll have to take my word for it, but that white smear, just above the sea and slightly left of centre is a Gannet on its way into the water. The Bass Rock, home to the largest colony of Gannets in the world and from which they derive their latin name (Sula bassana), is only twenty miles away. But, despite the fact that Gannets can forage over distances of tens or even hundreds of miles, today was the first time I have seen the characteristic brilliant white wings with black tips flying past the Prom. As I was just on my way back from the shops I only had my pocket camera with me, hence the impressionist interpretation of a diving gannet, rather than anything more clearly identifiable. Nevertheless I like it. The sense of what I saw, looking out from the Prom. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.