Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Swee'pea

The husband has been walking dogs at the local SPCA for well over a year now, I think. He's been threatening to bring home a dog to be a pal to our Bugsy - a 5 year old Boston Terrier/Pug cross (Bugg)  - for longer than that. All my protestations about our not needing another dog, and Bugs not wanting to stop being the only dog, etc. etc. eventually went unheeded and he brought home Sweet Pea - who appears to be part Pitbull, 2 years old, with a spectacular underbite - for us to "foster" just as a test. Of course, a week later, we adopted her. And further of course he is now complaining about the fact that she pees on the kitchen floor nearly every night in the wee small hours - despite having been taken outside to do so before bed. She also has no conception of how to walk on a leash. She was *taken* from her previous owner - I'm guessing she was kept tied up outside, if not actually abused. She has a damaged right hind foot - missing all but one toe - and she is very easily startled. But she's as sweet as she can be! And Bugs is being a perfect gentleman about it, all things considered - although I do think his nose is a bit out of joint. She's about twice his weight - but she defers to him, as is proper. And every time the husband loudly complains about the peeing and whatever else bothers him, I just raise my eyebrows and give him *the look...*  ;-)

I expect we'll sort it all out eventually. Although I do have to admit that dog training has never been one of our strong suits.

Here is Bugsy in one of my early blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.