Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Moth Mullein

This is arguably my favorite wildflower - it comes up randomly in the grass area that we mow down at the end of our driveway. Every year I have to try to identify it and avoid mowing it. But since we recently let the mowing go for nearly three weeks - what with one thing and another - it had all shot up and become identifiable. #2 son volunteered to mow, so I instructed him to mow around the Moth Mullein and he did. He mowed down more daisies than I would have liked, but hey. Can't have everything when someone else is good enough to mow.

Meanwhile, I'm trying to get this blip up fast before I have to disconnect the computer. We're having thunderstorms! One lightning strike already took out our TV. Yes. Dead. Handy Husband has hooked a monitor to the DVD player so we can watch a movie... If we don't have to unplug it again to save it from another storm.

The extra is a Red Eft, an early stage of the Red-spotted Newt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.