one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

I was tricked again in thinking that I had found an easy species to identify this evening. I had noticed it still flowering a little earlier, but then the chickens had a party in that patch of the garden and when it was time for my daily species blip, the few little flowers that were left turned out a bit battered. Then the main challenge: finding the species name. It appears there are at at least 50 different species, of which more than 30 occur in New Zealand. Only one species occurs in my backyard, but which of them remained the big question. Although I don't like to get things wrong, I had to make a guess because there are more things to do on a fine Saturday than identifying species, so: Myosotis scorpioides will have to do for now until I come across a key for the identification of forget-me-not species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.