one species a day

By linnaeus

One species each day (from my backyard)

.... and if only I identified each species on the day that I blipped them, I would have learned not to rely on blipping one species on a day, because I can spend ages trying to identify it, like this one. I thought 'Aster', that's easy, but no. There were once around 600 species in this genus (Aster), but this has been narrowed down to around 180, by moving the other 420 into (at least five) different genera! These are mainly the North American ones, so let's assume the one in our garden is not a North American one, otherwise I wouldn't even have the genus name right! So here goes guessing again: Aster amellus. Ours typically have thirteen petals, and in most pictures I've seen on the internet it has many more, but so far it's my best guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.