Distortion

At work we all answer the phone. It’s random which calls we take:
 
‘Hello, Oxfordshire County Council accounts here. We’ve got an invoice from you and it’s got the wrong code on it. I wonder if you could tell me who from here commissioned the work it so I can contact them and get the right code.’
‘OK, what’s the bill for?’
‘Collins Street.’
‘Oh, education, that’s probably my remit. How much is it for?’
‘It says gardening.’
‘Ah, OK, the gardening team must have done some work there. The person concerned is out but I’ll ask him when he’s back.’
‘I don’t even know if we have a building in Collins Street.’
‘Oh you do, it’s the community education building…  Well, er, actually, you did. Education’s been contracted out now to A&W College.’
‘Oh really? Well I’ve only got another week. We’ve been contracted out to Hampshire.’
‘Sorry? Oxfordshire’s accounts are going to Hampshire?’
‘Yes, next week.’
‘So community education’s gone and accounts are going. Would you like to join the revolution with me?’
‘Oh, yes please!’

I made all that up, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.