Shelter from the storm

Today I was at the tiny, ‘eco-friendly’ Tandem Festival, held at an Outdoor Education Centre near Oxford. Hill End’s normal life is either cramming children into dormitories after a day of newts and willow dens or training adults - I’ve been taught hedge-dating, strimming and apple-tree pruning there.
 
It was a great venue for a day when torrential rain and lightning were forecast since it has solid buildings as well as festival marquees. The Green Dragon room provided a roof over the Ugandan kora player and the refugee week films while this whimsically decorated barn, which I snuck into as it was being prepared, hosted Nightscapes’s Street Theatre from Maastricht and a bunch of exuberant Hungarian dancers. The branches are wrapped in pages from books and hung with books and crockery.
 
This afternoon, in the festival’s mobile bike-repair workshop, I was taking the damaged back wheel off my bike and listening to Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphony wafting across the field from Sinfonia Gaia on the main stage. It’s a piece of music I know quite well so when the fourth movement (Thunder. Storm) began I was pleased that the person showing me how to tighten spokes, who didn't know it, said that the music sounded just like a storm. But we were both astonished as the promised rain started to bucket down just at that moment. We dragged the bikes and tools under a gazebo and sheltered until the fifth movement (Happy and thankful feelings after the storm) started when, believe it or not, the sun came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.