Still Life in Painting Class

I spent the day in a painting workshop given by local artist Wayne Jiang. It was amazingly wonderful and I am amazingly exhausted. Wayne works in acrylic and his technique involves extensive glazing and underpainting. He had us start with a photograph (you can see it beneath my painting), using carbon paper to draw it on the gessoed board. And then the thin coats of paint began. Tomorrow is another full day of working on our pieces, with what I imagine to be smaller and smaller brushes. I was able to leave my usual bag of art anxiety at home, and thoroughly enjoyed myself and this new process. I figured I didnt have anything to lose, since I sure don't consider myself a painter. It's easy to make progress when someone is suggesting where your colors could be a little cooler, or where the paint could be more opaque. The true test will be when I attempt this on my own at home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.