Art Workshop, Day Two

The second day of the workshop was much harder, devoted as it was to refining details and making thousands of decisions. Here are the pieces from the "Old Masters Technique" class. Each of us managed to create something completely different within the limitations of the instructions. Three people worked from their own photos, and three of us used the instructor's dramatically lit still life images. Five of the women are, in fact, painters in real life and have been painting for years in their own styles and palettes. I was the only newbie to the game. Although I've dabbled in many media over the years, I do not by any stretch consider myself a painter. This two-day workshop gave me a lot to think about, and I'm looking forward to trying out all this layering and glazing on my own, although I can't quite imagine not having an Art Whisperer looking over my shoulder. 

(In case you missed yesterday's journal, my image is the bowl of cherries, second from right.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.