horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Graffiti down the park

Ah the joy of being home after a couple of weeks of relaxation and wonderful scenery and peace and quiet. Sarcasm hopefully taken as read.

So after the drive back, and unpacking, time for something fun. While I was away this appeared in our local park. It wasn't unexpected.... I'm on the 'Friends' committee for the park, and this underpass was just grey and tagged beforehand. We've wanted to do something for a while, and as the new(ish) committee plans were put into action. Ian Tayac, a French graffiti artist based in Dundee, was engaged, and I'm more than a little chuffed that the majority of beasties (all animals from the park) actually came from my photos around the place. All inspired, as well, by artwork from kids of the three primary schools that border the park (I gave presentations to two of them to help spark the imagination).

It just looks great, and while I was there some people were wandering through talking about how much of an improvement it was. That's why I got involved, and it's lovely to see the germ of an idea become reality. And we've so much more planned.

Now, pizza to order and G&T to drink...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.